RED – Recognizing Exemplary Design


The Illinois Chapter of the International Interior Design Association is pleased to announce the call for submissions for the fifth annual Recognizing Exemplary Design Awards. Help us to celebrate Interior Design in Illinois by submitting a project that has been completed in the past two years. Entrants can submit to one or more category, ranging from commercial to residential, students to hospitality and more. Winners will be announced at the RED Awards ceremony on Thursday, April 13, 2017 at the Chicago Cultural Center, as well as featured on the website, social media, and in a major publication. Winning projects will also have the opportunity to be toured by members of the IIDA Illinois Chapter in the following year, which is exposure that you can’t get anywhere else. Don’t miss this opportunity to have your Exemplary Design Recognized!

To submit your project, click here.

IIDA Leaders Breakfast


The Leaders Breakfast series began as a single event, launched in New York, and in 2001 expanded into what is now an international program. Leaders Breakfast series celebrate regional successes and one individual who most embodies a design industry Leader.

Past Honorees include:

2001 Gary Wheeler, FIIDA, Gensler
2002 Eva Maddox, FIIDA, Perkins+Will
2003 Cary Johnson, FIIDA, Gensler
2004 Neil Frankel, FIIDA, FAIA
2005 Gary Lee, Assoc. IIDA, Gary Lee Partners
2006 Mark Stenftenagel, Assoc. IIDA, Whitney
2007 Donald Powell & Robert Kleinschmidt, Powell + Kleinschmidt
2008 Nicholas J. Luzietti, FIIDA, AIA, VOA
2009 Chris Kennedy, President, Merchandise Mart Properties
2010 Carlos Martinez, IIDA, Gensler
2011 Gina Berndt, IIDA, Perkins+Will
2012 Jaime Velez, FIIDA, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
2013 Nila R. Leiserowitz, FASID, IIDA, Gensler
2014 Holly Hunt, HOLLY HUNT
2015 The Graham Foundation


Cary Johnson, FIIDA
Nicholas Luzietti, FIIDA
Eva Maddox, FIIDA
Carlos Martinez, FIIDA
Margaret McCurry, FIIDA
Jaime Velez, FIIDA
Gary Wheeler, FIIDA, FASID


2013 Michelle Rust
2011 Carrie Fitzpatrick
2011 Claudia Peebles

Illinois Chapter Education Fund

Click Here for more information about the Illinois Chapter Education Fund